There is a strong history of drama in Borrisokane; the Clarke Memorial hall hosts these plays.

The Clarke Memorial Hall is now a listed building a true part of history in Borrisokane.

In the late sixties the Borrisokane Players, under the direction of Joe Boyle performed the following plays:

  • Big  Maggie
  • The Year of the Hiker
  • The Field
  • Sharon’s Grave
  • My wife’s family
  • See how they run

Over the last fifteen years there have been a wide range of performances,

Which include?

  • How to rob a bank
  • Philadelphia here I Come
  • Plough and the Stars
  • Juno and the Peacock
  • All the Kings horses
  • Blithe Spirit
  • Cripple of Inishman
  • Skull of Connemara

The producers of these plays were Michael O’ Meara, Peter Elrington,

Mary Donnelly, Tom Hayes.

There were a number of concerts performed over the same period of time, to delight the parish and surrounding areas, where beautiful singing, dancing and musicians entertained us, produced by Phil Quigley and Mary Glennon.

Macra Na Feirme formed in 1980, and this group performed in Macra drama competions, under the direction of Noel Mc Donnell, they qualified for the All Ireland final with Jim Minogues’ play: The Windows Mite in 1988.

One of the finest and emotional plays to be preformed was The Retard by:

And produced by Tom Hayes, where Eddie Lillis won best actor in competition for his sensitive and strong portrayal of his character David

Continuing with their success over the years, in 1992 they won an All Ireland Final in Sligo, with the Hugh Leonard play: Last of the Mohicans under the direction of Tom Hayes.

In May 2006 the Clarke Memorial audience were stuck to their seats by the performance of Sophie Bailey’sSchool of Ballet.  Children from the age of four to ten years of age were joined by some of Sophie’s older students from Dublin, and the pure professionalism most be admired. The children can only have been described as pure angelic and every one in the audience could see how much they were enjoying themselves.

The Annual General Meeting of the Borrisokane Players was held in the Yanks at the end of September.

The elections of officers were as follows:

Chairman: Mr. Gay Hackett

Treasurer / secretary: Mr.Sean Kelly

P.R.O: Ms Phil Quigley.

Along with a working committee.

The Borrisokane Players are looking forward to many more years of success with the support, as always, of the community.