In 1893 ‘Guy’s Directory of Munster was published and goes on to describe Borrisokane as follows: dealing mostly with the inhabitants. Post, money orders, stamps etc Hugh Delaney market day for fowl and eggs on Tuesday. The poor Law Union consisted of thirteen electoral divisions with the board of Guardians meeting every Monday, chairman Richard Falkner J.P. Mountfalcon, Vice chairman Hugh Delaney, James Ralph, clerk and returning officer, Master and Matron Edward Tierney and Nora Moloney. Church of Ireland chaplin Rev. Samuel Hyde, A.M. R.C. Rev. Thomas phelan, P.P. Medial officer Dr. Henry A. Sampson, relieving officer Samuel Russell, rate collector Thomas R. Grey of Greyfort House.

Dispensary and registration officers were Dr. J.C. Daly for Borrisokane, for Cloughjordan Dr. Robert A. Mcloughlin and for Terryglass Dr. Robert Boxwell. The Methodist Minister Rev. William J. Clayton. The pupils were taught in Borrisokane boys school by J. Cottor, in Borrisokane ‘mixed’ by Miss Oakley in Kyle Park by W.J.D. Gallagher and Miss Meara and in the convent by the Sisters of Mercy. Ger Slevin, and Timothy Ryan. Hugh Delaney and Daniel Ryan were the emigration agents. The merchants were Hugh Delaney, Patrick Hackett, Eliza Gaynor, Walter F. Kent and Thomas Humphries worked the only mill.

The following were described as Gentry and Clergy: James Buchanan, David Clarke of Bushy Park House, Rev. William Clayton Minister and Rev. T, Phelan, P.P., Dr. J. Daly, M.D., David Henry Nelson, Baronial High Constable, John Exshaw, Ballyhaden, Richard Falkner, David Fortune, Kyle, Anthony Heenan, William Metree, District Inspecter of the R,I.C., Rev. Samuel Hyde, Rector, Mrs. Murphy, Milford House, Rev. J. Nolan and Rev. J.F. McGuir, C.C., James Ralph, union clerk, Thomas Sadlier, The Terrace, Henry Saunders, Killavalla House and James Slattery. The petty sessions were held in the Bridewell (Fair Green) on every fourth Wednesday, Joseph Slattery being the clerk of the petty sessions. Civil Bill officers were William Malloy, John McCarthy and Daniel Ryan, Fair Green. The head constable of the R.I.C. was James Sweeney and the clerk to the District Inspector William Hetreed was acting sergeant P. Henue. Sergeants in charge of Borrisokane District Stations, Annagh – Thomas Grogan, Coolbawn – Thomas Tierney, Lorrha – Thomas O’Rourke, The Pike – Patrick Walsh, Portland – David Lavelle, and Riverstown – John Watson, Sergeant Thomas Whiteside was inspector of weights and measures. Borrisokane vinters were as follows: Mrs. Birmingham, Daniel J. Cleary, John Cleary, Patrick Cleary, Martin Foley, Patrick Hackett, Daniel Hough, Daniel Hogan, Timothy Heenan, John Henzy, J. Kelly, William Kelly, Michael McKenna, B. Lambe, and M.E. Stephens.